Payton Edgar’s Agony by MJT Seal



Payton Edgar is a culinary trend-setter and restaurant critic who works at the London Clarion. When Honoria Betts, the editor of a boring weekly called Peggy’s Postbag is on medical leave, Payton’s boss asks him to take over Betts’ place. Initially, Payton refuses to be the ‘agony aunt’ but agrees later on. He writes under the pseudonym, Margaret Blythe.

Meanwhile, Payton’s aunt settles in his homely abode and creates quite a fuss. The old lady doesn’t seem to like any of the nurses and finds ways to shoo them off. She finally settles to a young woman named Grace Kemp. Grace is hostile to Payton and they hardly talk.

Margaret Blythe receives a letter in which a woman claims that she’s in danger. Her lover has threatened to kill her if she doesn’t leave her husband and son. Her family has no idea about her extra-marital affair. Payton sends her his advice but it is too late. The woman is dead, possibly murdered. Payton decides to investigate. Lest did he know that he is going to stir up a hornet’s nests.


My Review

The story was a tad bit similar to Agatha Christie’s or J.S.Fletcher’s books. The story moves at a slow pace.

Twists and turns takes the reader in the wrong direction until the end. Edgar finds clue after clue, all leading him in a different direction. He even judges his own decision as to who the murderer is.

Irving Spencer, a renowned painter, and Edgar’s friend, helps Edgar to solve the case. Then there is Grace Kemp. Her real identity shocks Edgar but all is well in the end.

Edgar’s curiosity in finding out the identity of the murderer almost gets him killed. Mr. Edgar, didn’t you know that curiosity killed the cat?! Edgar reminded me of Hastings and Watson. Their deduction skills are not on par with Poirot or Holmes, and Edgar makes mistakes too.

The writing is dramatic and unique. The story is as narrated by Payton Edgar. The language is Victorian-like. This is the first book in the series and it was not very good. Nevertheless, the Payton Edgar series looks promising. Though slow, I liked the story and I will be reading the next two books in the series.


My Rating


Language/Writing: 4.5/5

Story/Plot: 4/5

Character Development: 4/5

Ending: 4/5


Overall Rating: 4/5


Book Details


Title: Payton Edgar’s Agony (Payton Edgar Mysteries Book #1)

Author: M.J.T Seal

Published on: 8th November 2014

Genre: Fiction, Crime and Mystery

Availability: Available on Kindle Unlimited



Featured Image Credits:

4 thoughts on “Payton Edgar’s Agony by MJT Seal

Comments are closed.