Maggie Fitzmorris Mysteries by Norah Winter

Set in 1931, the series follows sleuthing adventures of Maggie Fitzmorris, a forensic pathologist in Sunnyville, Canada.

While women of Maggie’s age are happily married and settled in life, Maggie wants to pursue her passion for forensic pathology. After her medical degree, she applied to many jobs. All but one declined her application. The one that accepted her application had a condition though – Maggie must agree not to marry for five years so that she can devote her entire time to the job. It’s either this or working as a shop girl so Maggie agrees to the conditions.

#1: Making a Killing

Maggie Fitzmorris is at a court proceedings of a young man who died in mysterious circumstances. His family claims the maid killed him. Maggie has done an autopsy but the results are inconclusive as lime was used instead of embalming fluid. When the victim’s brother requests Maggie to bring his brother’s killer to justice, Maggie agrees to help.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Read my review of Making a Killing

#2: An Inconspicuous Murder

Lacey Gibson had died from a fall down the staircase. When Maggie inspects the body, she doubts if it was a case of accidental death. When the victim’s fiancé makes shocking claims, Maggie decides to do a bit of sleuthing on her own and find out the truth.

My Rating:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Read my review of An Inconspicuous Murder