Kipper Cottage Mystery Series by Jan Durham

Kipper Cottage Mysteries features Liz McLuckie, her dog Nelson, and her friends Mags, Tilly, Kevin, Gillian and Benedict. Liz took an early retirement after her husband’s death and invested in two fishing cottages – Gull and Kipper.

Set in the picturesque fishing town of Whitby in North Yorkshire, the series follows Liz’s amateur sleuthing adventures. Liz finds herself in the middle of a murder mystery often. Kevin (Benedict’s son) is a policeman and he discusses the case with Liz – shh, don’t tell his boss! Mags and Tilly own The Bluemoon Café , Liz’s favorite food destination. Then there is Gillian, the local reverend and Benedict, a handsome man and Liz’s might-be/would-be (I certainly hope so!) love interest. Then there is Iris. She’s a tad SHORT OF HEARING and SPEAKS LOUDLY.

Of course, one has to mention Nelson, an English bull terrier – the ugliest and probably the bravest dog in the whole of Yorkshire.

Till date, there are three books in the series.

#1: Death at the Abbey

Death at the Abbey is the first book in this series. Liz and Nelson are on their early morning stroll when Nelson discovers the body of a local professor near the medieval abbey. Postmortem suggests the victim drowned to his death. In that case, why was his body found on the clifftop? And why did he have a fish in his pocket?

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Read my review of Death at the Abbey.

#2: Death at Neptune Yard

Death at Neptune Yard is the second book in this series. Halloween is coming to North Yorkshire and the town of Whitby is filled with Goths… oops, I mean tourists. When one of Liz’s friend encounters the Barghest – Yorkshire’s legendary Dog of Death, it sparks a series of mysterious fatalities in the town.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Read my review of Death at Neptune Yard.

#3: Death at the Feast

Death at the Feast is the third book in this series. Christmas is around the corner and the townspeople of Whitby are gathered for the Mayor’s feast at the museum. When the Mayor drops dead due to an anaphylactic attack and Liz’s friends Mags and Tilly are suspected of poisoning him, Liz must prove their innocence and bring the killer to justice.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Read my review of Death at the Feast.

#4: Death at the Anchorage

Death at the Anchorage is the fourth book in this series. It’s Valentine’s day and hearts are beating fast in the small fishing town of Whitby. After a seance at Anchorage Retirement Home, one of the residents is found murdered. Their murder is related to a three-decade-old ‘unsolved’ murder case .

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Read my review of Death at the Anchorage

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: